The Story: Chapter 4

Chapter 4: Summer Break & New Clothes
Dated Covered: May 2002- Mid Aug 2002

My first summer break had finally arrived. Honestly I was just ready for a break, from school. Freshman year had proven, to be quite the experience, so much happened. I meet so many people that would affect me so much later in life, it’s unreal. Enough about school, let’s move to summer break.

See I’m from rural North Carolina, Five years ago my hometown got a Viquest Fitness Center, think of it as a Small, but fully equipped Gold’s Gym. So there was no where for me to workout when I went home on weekend or in this case my summer break. Oh how I long to be back in my college town, not just for the gym, but for the atmosphere and the people. For the first few weeks, I just laid around the house. Stayed up late, slept long, etc. I also was back home with Grandma’s fried cooking which is bad(love you GRANNY). Added on top of this, I had nothing to occupy my time with all day. I began to regress into my old habits, before college. My mom and I tried to weaken the blow. She did buy turkey, wheat bread and stuff, but, most of the meals where home cooked.

I did more and more reading during the summer about nutrition and working. I was steady increasing my knowledge base. I read about diet ratios of macro-nutrients, which still at the time, didn’t really mean much to me. I discovered new exercises that I could so at home, with basic items, such as books and anything that had a little weight. Try doing Lat Raises (hold the book by side and bring it up to shoulder height) with the A or M Encyclopedia, that’s hard core.. LOL.

Well with every school term, comes serveral rituals. Buying school, supplies, books, and yes CLOTHES.  It was time to order new clothes. I was somewhat excited.  I was now a 42-44 in the waist, and had dropped down to where a 2XL was a little to big, but a XL wasn’t quite big enough. It was a good time, we didn’t have much money, so I ordered as cheaply as possible. It didn’t care where it came from, as long as it would fit and looked nice.

About mid June, I went to work for Perduce Farms INC. I would be my first “REAL” job ever. It wasn’t by choice really, I had been turn-down by every other place around town, and well this was it. Not to Mention my mom worked there, and ensured me, if I wanted a job, I would get it. Purdue was hard-work, very hard work. Standing up for 8hours on my feet, processing chickens. Not as gross as it sounds, but still never the less, traumatizing. (1 of the reasons I don’t eat fried CHICKEN). I only worked for 7 weeks at Purdue. I had to leave because school was starting in a week. Perdude was good. I kept me from snacking all day. Also I only had 20mins for Lunch, So i really didn’t have time to eat anything, but maybe a nab and a soda.

Well 2 weeks before, it was time for me to leave Purdue, an event occur in my life, that has truly impacted my life. On a Wed night, my mother was in a terrible car accident; a head on collision. A Lady called and said that my mother had car trouble, and that I should come and see about her. I hoped in the car, and drove about 25 miles outside of town. I pull up on the highway, and saw that traffic was backed up. I sat in the car, and weight for about 10mins before, getting out of the car. I stepped out of the car, and made my way towards the fuss. I wanted to see what was going on. I walked up for about a quarter of a mile, and that’s when in the distance I saw my mother’s car, turned sideways, against a barrier. I took off in a run, and rushed to my mother. I couldn’t even make it all the way, without running out of breath and becoming tired. Only God knows how I felt, not being able to make to my mother, who needed me more then, that ever before. I finally made it to the scene, and found my mother in the ambulance, screaming…Anywho, she wasn’t in any immediate danger or fatally wounded. She ended up with a broken and crushed hip. Although permanently disabled, but that’s another story. I speeded back to the car and took off after the ambulance. I can say that I hit 120 MPH, that night, trying to catch up with my mother. All while during the drive I was in tears, I vowed, from that moment on, that I would never ever have trouble running again. It was guilty motivation, . I didn’t ever want to be helpless again, I wanted to be ready for any situation that could arise.  I would enter the NEW semester, with FRESH MOTIVATION.

Explore posts in the same categories: Advice, Exercise, Life, Nutrition, Self-Image, The Story, Weight Loss

One Comment on “The Story: Chapter 4”

  1. Lori Says:

    Justin, what a story. I’m so sorry about your mother’s accident.

    You know, I once read where ambulances have a code they use for really heavy people that they have to pull out of cars, etc. I don’t/didn’t want to be one of those people.


Leave a Reply

