To Bulk or Not to Bulk, that is the question!!!

Bulking, what is bulking you may ask. Bulking is the process where, people attempt to put on weight, more specifically muscle. Often a common cycle in hard-gainers,(people who have a hard time putting on weight(i dont’ have that problem)). The idea is to try to pack on as much weight/muscle as possible ,then follow with a cutting cycling where you attempt to keep the new muscle and shed the added body fat. When bulking normally your calorie in take doubles. Your body can’t put on weight if it’s not in EXCESS of calories.

The thing about bulking, that gest me is the feeling of getting bigger, even if it is muscle, and as you’ve read above, it’s extrmemely hard and nearly impossible to clean bulk. Some fat will be added as well. I’ll just FEEL BIG again.. This would be the second time I attempt a BULK. The last one was a failure. I ended up adding 9.5 lbs of fat and gaining maybe like 4 lbs of muscle. As you can see from the picture, below, how BIG I got. Well atleast I think I figured my two biggest mistakes.
1. Adding to many calories too soon. I jumped from about 2700 to 3800-4300. The number was in compliance with many sites and mags,etc,, but what they fail to mention was that I needed to increase the calories slowly each week. So If I do Bulk, i’ll add generally 300 calories to my daily diet every other week.

2. Too many calories, in general.  Most formulas tell you to multiply your Body Weight by 18-20, and to get the amount of calories you need to bulk, but, after doing some research and combining several sources, I’ve discovered you should multiply  your Lean Body Mass, only, not your total body weight. I won’t make that mistake this time. THANKS BOD POD.

I wish the pictures below showed you more. I’m really good at hiding my weight.  I know it’s hard to see the 15 LBS.  I wish I had did shirtless shots. Anywho. I also worry about clothes fitting. Ughh.  With so many worries and concern, why even BULK right. Considering the other option woulld be to lose more body fat first, then gain muscle later. That’s just as harder if not harder, because once again fat will be added. Not to mention I can’t do cardio Like i want to now, since it’s cold(no more running outsdie).  This is why most body builders bulk during the winter and cut during the spring or summer.

My Nutrition will have to change, I’ll either have to add on to my serving size, or replace meals entirely. Here’s a copy of Last year’s Breakfast

Food

Fat

Carb

Protien

Cheese

5

0

5

Wheat
Eng. Muffin

2

27

5

Raisin Bran

3

90

11

Milk

0

12

8

Candian  Bacon

3

0

8

Egg Patty

4

1

4

                                    Fat: 17                         Carb 130                     Protien 41

Total
Cal. 747

It’s not as fun, eating this much food, as you would think. Half of the time, I wasn’t very hungry, but would ahve to stuff down 500-600 calories for a meal. I felt full all the time.. Bloated, that would also be from the creatine supplement I was taking. (Retains extra water in your cell)

I really need to plan this out better. I won’t eat the same way I did Last time.

 

 9e4c.jpg

Oct/NOV 2005 (Before I bulked)

 

n22202614_30577971_2162.jpg

APRIL 2006(Nearing the End of the Bulk)

 

n22219298_30827993_4895.jpg

July 2006(1.5 months of Cutting)

 

Not The Best VISUALS>. LOOK CLOSELY… VERY VERY CLOSELY

Explore posts in the same categories: Advice, Exercise, Nutrition, Resources, Uncategorized, Weight Loss

2 Comments on “To Bulk or Not to Bulk, that is the question!!!”

  1. waistloss Says:

    Ummm…why do you have firecrackers in your pants?


Leave a Reply

